What I read.

Tracking what you read is similar to making a food log. You realize what you consume makes up who you are, and the end result may or may not be pleasing.

The New York Times’ (Facebook Page)

I go on Facebook with the full intention of wasting time. I scan through the lives of old high school classmates, Buzzfeed quizzes, and advertisements. I consume junk, and so in an effort to stop this I made myself “like” the New York Times’ Facebook page.

Screenshot 2015-01-22 22.51.16

National Geographic’s Instagram

I go on Instagram to bother my fourteen year old sister and put up pictures that indicate I have a life. I also enjoy photography, and after years of stealing my father’s  National Geographic magazines, I discovered a lighter, freer means of enjoying their photos.

Screenshot 2015-01-22 23.19.51

Random online articles on relationship issues

I love the guy I’m with, and I am not going to ruin this relationship. If that means resolving my insecurities with an Elite Daily article on spooning, then so be it.

Screenshot 2015-01-22 23.34.46

“Let’s Explore Diabetes With Owls” by David Sedaris

As a bank teller, I’ve learned that online banking has created long periods of time with no customers, so I bring paperback books to work. Last week it was William Goldman’s “The Princess Bride,” and this week it was David Sedaris’ latest collection of essays. His humor is bitter and self-deprecating, a nice contrast to the fake sweetness I put out at work.

15790837

Facebook and Tumblr

“I should list Facebook and Tumblr if I’m being honest, but then I’m gonna seem like a vapid idiot.”

download

During this past semester.

I may have paid less attention to the news during the winter break, but I read more news media during my classes.

The New York Times (and other online news sites)

I found The New York Times to be the best way to look up the latest news, so I bought a student subscription. However, besides being unable to deliver to my house, the New York Times also seems to enjoy logging me off its site and refusing to allow me on again, which means I can only read so many articles as a non-subscriber. This is why I also read the websites of The Washington Post, BBC News, The Guardian, Times Union, The Huffington Post, and once even the Times of India.

Newsola

Newsola is a news aggregator website made up of colorful squares, each one containing a link to a news story. The squares are organized by size and shape: the size indicates the relevance designated to the article, the color grouping the article into one of six categories. It’s amusing to click refresh and watch the squares reorganize themselves as new stories appear and old stories become less relevant.

Screenshot 2015-01-27 18.23.47

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “What I read.

  1. gehadibrahim says:

    I like the variety of categories you read. I would suggest that you make the photos bigger and try to change their position, not to make them all have the same look. Maybe you can also add some videos that you watched and learned something from. 😀

    Like

  2. I love your selection of reading! The reading you’ve chosen I think can show a little about you as a person. Its full of knowledge, information, and still is connected with the beauty and story of life. I like how use practical explanations for why you read what you do. Nice job!

    Like

  3. lamyaz94 says:

    Hey Rose, I really enjoyed your post especially because it was super detailed and explanatory. I like your style of writing, it made me want to keep reading. I would center the pictures just so there’s not all on a side. Maybe put some on the left with the text wrapped around or something like that. It’ll make it look more presentable.

    Like

  4. marcyrobles says:

    I really liked how you formatted your post. A few suggestions: center the photos, add more links, and add a photo under the subhead The New York Times.. just to keep it consistent. Other than that I think you did awesome with your post and put a lot of personality into it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

